Lab Services at MasterLab

Rigorous by Nature

MasterLab is dedicated to providing quality forage and feed testing lab services that meet the requirements of international standards and guidelines. Formerly known as Trouw Nutrition Laboratory, we have served customers for 60 years and provide lab services for livestock feed and agriculture materials analysis.

We are a certified in precision nutrition, highlighting the link between agri-food production, agricultural producers, and consumers. Lab services include the sample analysis of multiple ingredients such as forages, hay, food, oil and water.  We provide producers insights essential for herd management with results available through our secured web platform.

Services we offer

Feed
Water
Forage
Microbiology
Physical Testing
Nutritional Labelling
Grain
Medication
Quality Control - Plant Ingredients
General Sample Analysis

A State of The Art Lab For The Agriculture and Agri-Food Industry

 

A Trusted Lab 

With over 60 years of experience, our lab has been providing reliable service to producers and businesses across the country. Our team of 30 full-time professionals maintain a rigorous quality control process and offer services in English and French.

Our Services

 

Cutting Edge Technology Supporting  Sustainability

Analysis by XRF spectroscopy (X-ray fluorescence) is a state-of-the-art, eco-friendly and quick method that allows a precise analysis of several minerals, including certain minor elements, whether in liquid, solid, or oily form.

Find Out More

 

” …science is proof of everything in our field of expertise...”Master” in MasterLab refers to quality, competence, and is a reference within the scientific community across Canada."
Lab Director, Hélène Lachance

FAQ

What Certifications does the Lab hold?

The MasterLab Laboratory is ISO/IEC 17025:2017 certified. It has been accredited since 1998 and retains the accreditation following regular audits by Standards Council of Canada personnel. In order to maintain this accreditation our laboratory needs to fulfill a set of strict requirements that cover all activities including : staff training, sample handling and use of validated and proven testing methods.

Scope of Accreditation

Click  HERE to view the Scope of Accreditation

SCC number : 15353

(Conforms with requirements of ISO/IEC 17025:2017)

Since 1996, our laboratory has retained a certification by NFTA (National Forage Testing Association) by annually participating in their proficiency testing program, consistently achieving top ratings. 

Our laboratory also has the NOPA/AOCS Certified Lab certification for referee analysis on soybean meal according to the NOPA (National Oilseed Processors Association) trading rules.  We are the ONLY Lab in Canada that has this certification. 

 MasterLab 
4760, Martineau street
Saint-Hyacinthe (Quebec) J2R 1V1

What does the Lab do to ensure results are accurate and credible?

Accuracy and Reliability

To ensure the accuracy and reliability of our analytical results we: 

1.  Participate in external proficiency testing programs
The testing programs in which we participate are organized by reputable international organizations that validate the laboratory’s accuracy. Testing includes:

AOCS: Nutritional labeling
AOCS: Oil seed meal testing 
AOCS: CholesterolAOCS: Unground soybean
AOCS: Marine oil
AAFCO: Complete feed analysis
NFTA: Complete forage testing
AACC: Testing of vitamins, sugars, minerals and dietary fiber
LGC: Microbiological analysis of foods and feeds
DSM: PigmentsMasterLab, participate to: Mycotoxins, Aquaculture, Feeds & Feed Materials programsRomer, participation in the program: MycotoxinsTrilogy, participation in the program: Drugs

2)  Internal Quality Assurance
Our internal quality assurance program includes testing of all activities and controls in each batch of samples. 

3) Training Programs
Our staff proficiency is regularly monitored, staff members performing analytical testing follow a rigorous and structured training. 

4) Confidentiality
Our laboratory uses a Laboratory Management system for the handling of all customers’ data to ensure that it remains highly confidential.

What types of samples do you analyze?

We are a full-service lab for the agriculture and agri-food industry.  On average we analyze over 90,000 samples per year. We can take care of all your regulatory and legal needs required for sample analysis:  complete feed ingredients, water, fat, oil, food and fodder.   Do not hestitate to contact us if the sample analysis you need isn't listed here.

Here is a non-exhaustive list of products we can test at the MasterLab:

  • Fat (Animal fat)
  • Oil
  • Food for human consumption
  • Ingredients (corn, wheat, soya, etc)
  • Complete feed
  • Premix
  • Micro
  • Supplement
  • Water
  • Eggs
  • Fresh meat
  • Medication
  • Hay
  • Haylage
  • TMR
  • Corn silage
  • Minerals
  • Products coated in fat
  • Vitamins
  • Sponge/Swab (for microbiological tests)
  • Insects

What types of tests do you perform?

We use the latest equipment to offer over 125 different types of analysis procedures like Mycotoxins, Proximates, Medications, Nutritional Labelling, Fatty Acid Profiles, Vitamins, Amino Acids and Sugars for example. 

What is your service area?

We work with customers across Canada and the United States and offer service in English and French. Excellent customer service is a priority.  We can help guide you in submitting your samples and efficiently send back your results. 

Ready To Get Started?

 

Get A Quote

Current Customer Log-In

MasterLab facility services US and Canadian customers

We recently moved to a new location in Quebec. Our state-of-the-art laboratory continues our excellent reputation and long-standing history of dedication to providing our customers with high quality food and feed testing services.

Les Services MasterLabs

Rigoureux de nature

MasterLab offre des services d’analyses de laboratoire de qualité pour les fourrages et aliments qui répondent aux exigences des normes et directives internationales. Anciennement connu sous le nom de Laboratoire Trouw Nutrition, l’équipe MasterLab sert ses clients depuis 60 ans et fournit des services de laboratoire pour l'analyse des aliments de consommation animale et humaine. MasterLab est certifié en nutrition de précision, soulignant le lien entre la production agroalimentaire, les producteurs agricoles et les consommateurs.

Les services de laboratoire comprennent l'analyse d'échantillons de plusieurs types tels que: Les ingrédients, fourrages, les moulées complètes, les huiles et les graisses ainsi que l'eau. MasterLab fournit aux producteurs des informations essentielles pour la gestion des troupeaux avec des résultats disponibles sur une plateforme web sécurisée.

Un laboratoire de pointe pour l'industrie agricole et agroalimentaire

Laboratoire de confiance

Avec plus de 60 ans d'expérience, le laboratoire fournit un service fiable aux producteurs et aux entreprises à travers le pays. L’équipe de 30 professionnels à temps plein maintient un processus de contrôle de qualité rigoureux et offre des services en anglais et en français.

Nos services

Une technologie de pointe au service de la durabilité

L'analyse par spectroscopie XRF (X-Ray fluorescence) est une méthode de pointe, écologique et rapide qui permet une analyse précise de plusieurs minéraux, dont certains éléments mineurs, que ce soit sous forme liquide, solide ou huileuse.

En savoir plus

...La science est la preuve de tout dans notre domaine d'expertise, "Master" dans MasterLab fait référence à la qualité, à la compétence et est une référence au sein de la communauté scientifique à travers le Canada.
Hélène Lachance, directrice du MasterLab

Quelles certifications détient le laboratoire?

Le Laboratoire MasterLab est certifié ISO/IEC 17025:2017. Il est accrédité depuis 1998 et maintient son accréditation suite à des audits réguliers effectués par le personnel du Conseil Canadien des normes. Afin de conserver cette accréditation, le laboratoire doit répondre à un ensemble d'exigences strictes qui couvrent toutes les activités, notamment : la formation du personnel, la manipulation des échantillons et l'utilisation de méthodes de test validées et éprouvées.

Accréditations

Cliquez ici pour visionner nos accréditations.

Numéro de dossier SCC : 15353

(conforme avec les exigences d’ISO/IEC 17025:2017)

Depuis 1996, notre laboratoire a conservé une certification par la NFTA (National Forage Testing Association) en participant chaque année à leur programme d’essais d’aptitudes, obtenant constamment les meilleures notes.

Comment le laboratoire s'assure-t-il que les résultats sont exacts et crédibles?

Pour garantir l'exactitude et la fiabilité de nos résultats d'analyses, nous :

1) Participons des programmes d’essais d’aptitudes externes

Les programmes de tests auxquels nous participons sont organisés par des organisations internationales réputées qui valident la précision du laboratoire. Les tests comprennent :

AOCS : Étiquetage nutritionnel
AOCS : Test de farine de graines oléagineuses
AOCS : Cholestérol
AOCS : Soja non moulu
AOCS : Huile marine
AAFCO : Analyses complètes des moulées
NFTA : Analyses complètes du fourrage
AACC : Analyse des vitamines, sucres, minéraux et fibres alimentaires
LGC : Analyses microbiologiques des denrées alimentaires
DSM : Pigments
MasterLab :  Mycotoxines, Aquaculture, Feeds & Feed Materials
Romer : Mycotoxines                                                                                  Trilogy: Médicaments

2) Assurance qualité interne
Notre programme d'assurance qualité interne effectue des tests de toutes les activités et des contrôles dans chaque lot d'échantillons.

3) Programmes de formation
La compétence de notre personnel est régulièrement contrôlée, les membres du personnel qui effectuent des tests analytiques suivent une formation continue rigoureuse et structurée.

4) Confidentialité
Notre laboratoire utilise un système de gestion pour le traitement de toutes les données des clients afin de garantir qu'elles restent hautement confidentielles.

 

Quels types d'échantillons analysez-vous?

Nous sommes un laboratoire à service complet pour l'industrie agricole et agroalimentaire. Nous analysons en moyenne plus de       90 000 échantillons par année. Nous pouvons prendre en charge tous vos besoins réglementaires et légaux nécessaires à l'analyse d'échantillons : ingrédients, moulées complètes, eaux, graisses, huiles, nourriture de consommation humaine et fourrage. N'hésitez pas à nous contacter si les produits dont vous avez besoin n'est pas listée ici.

Voici une liste non exhaustive de produits que MasterLab peut tout analyser :

  • Graisse (graisse animale)
  • Huile
  • Aliments destinés à la consommation humaine
  • Ingrédients (maïs, blé, soja, etc.)
  • Moulée complète
  • Prémélange
  • Micro
  • Suppléments
  • Eau
  • Œufs
  • Viande fraîche
  • Médicaments
  • Foins
  • Ensilage de foins
  • Ration totale mélangée (RTM)
  • Ensilage de maïs
  • Minéraux
  • Produits enrobés de graisse
  • Vitamines
  • Éponge/écouvillon (pour les tests microbiologiques)
  • Insectes

 

Quels types de tests effectuez-vous?

Nous utilisons des équipements dernier cri pour proposer plus de 125 types de procédures d'analyses différentes telles que les mycotoxines, les proximates, les médicaments, l'étiquetage nutritionnel, les profils d'acides gras, les vitamines, les acides aminés et les sucres.

Quelle est le territoire couvert?

Nous travaillons avec des clients partout au Canada et aux États-Unis et offrons un service en anglais et en français. Un excellent service client est l’une de nos priorités. Nous pouvons vous guider dans la soumission de vos échantillons et livrer efficacement vos résultats.

MasterLab dessert les clients américains et canadiens.

Nous avons récemment déménagé dans de nouveaux locaux au Québec. Notre laboratoire, à la fine pointe de la technologie, perpétue son excellente réputation et son engagement de longue date à fournir à ses clients des services d'analyses de denrées alimentaires de haute qualité.